Season filled with activities of all kinds

When the weather heats up in Northeast Pennsylvania, events stay cool. Weekend Times gathered all the fun around the region this summer, from theater to festivals to family-friendly events.

Theater
All the region’s a stage this summer with performances of musicals, plays and revues. Head to the Little Theatre of Wilkes-Barre, 537 N. Main St., to see “Harvey,” from Friday, June 15, through Sunday, June 17; “Seussical the Musical Jr.,” from Friday, July 27, through Sunday, July 29; and “Seussical the Musical,” from Friday, Sept. 7, through Sunday, Sept. 16.
Clocktower Theater Co. presents “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof,” featuring West Scranton native Jessica Cadden Osborne on Saturday, June 16, at the Theater at North, 1539 N. Main Ave., Scranton, while Gaslight Theatre Company presents “The Taming of the Shrew” from Friday, June 22, through Saturday, June 30, at 200 East End Centre, Wilkes-Barre Twp.
“Showstoppers Cabaret” takes the stage Friday, June 22, through Sunday, June 24, at Diva Theater at Olde Brick Theatre, 126 W. Market St., Scranton, and Gamut Theatre presents its Shakespeare in the Park edition of “Macbeth” on Saturday, June 23, at Tunkhannock Riverside Park, Route 29. Scranton Shakespeare Festival takes over the city with “How To Succeed in Business Without Really Trying” from Thursday, June 28, through Sunday, July 1, and Friday, July 27, at the Marketplace at Steamtown, 300 Lackawanna Ave., Scranton; “The Tempest & Sycorax,” Friday, July 6, through Sunday, July 8, and Saturday, July 28; “Hansel & Gretel,” on Saturdays, July 7 and 14; “As You Like It,” from Friday, July 13, through Sunday, July 15, and Sunday, July 29; and “Footloose,” from Thursday, July 19, through Sunday, July 22, and Sunday, July 29, all at Scranton Preparatory School, 1000 Wyoming Ave.

Nightlife 
There are plenty of places to have fun throughout the region once the sun goes down. Have a laugh this summer at “Summer Yuk Yuks: A Night of Comedy” on Saturday, June 16, at Scranton Cultural Center at The Masonic Temple, 420 N. Washington Ave. Check out comedy shows Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays at Wise Crackers Comedy Club inside Seasons Ballroom at Mohegan Sun Pocono, 1280 Route 315, Plains Twp., and at Comedy open mic night Tuesdays at Hammerjax Bar & Grill, 350 Phillips Road, Clifton Twp. For fun, just add water at Adult Swim Night on Wednesdays, June 20 and July 18, at Montage Mountain Resorts, 1000 Montage Mountain Road, Scranton. Also, sneak a peek at the legendary male revue, “Chippendales: About Last Night,” when it storms Keystone Grand Ballroom at Mohegan Sun Pocono on Friday, July 27.

Family
Family fun is everywhere this summer. Artists of all ages and abilities can express themselves during Art in the Park events Tuesday, July 10, at Merli-Sarnoski Park, Greenfield Twp.; Tuesday, July 17, at Covington Park, Covington Twp.; and Tuesday, July 24, at Aylesworth Park, Jermyn. Head inside for an immersive art experience, Arts Engage, on Tuesday, July 31, at Electric City Trolley Museum, 300 Cliff St., Scranton.
Get ready to rumble at WWE “SmackDown Live!” on Tuesday, July 17, at Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza, 255 Highland Park Blvd., Wilkes-Barre Twp., and let your imagination run wild during the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre Railriders’ Princess & Pirate Night on Friday, July 27; “The Sandlot” Night on Saturday, July 28; and Superhero Night on Friday, Aug. 17, all at PNC Field, 235 Montage Mountain Road, Moosic.
Catch a family-friendly movie outside during Scranton Tomorrow’s Drive-In Downtown on Lackawanna County Courthouse Square during July and August, and charge full steam ahead into Steamtown National Historic Site, Lackawanna Avenue at Cliff Street, Scranton for its annual Railfest on Saturday, Sept. 1, and Sunday, Sept. 2.

Festivals 

Nothing says Northeast Pennsylvania like a summer festival. Some already began, but you can head to St. John the Evangelist Parish Flea Market at St. Mary Magdalene Church Basement, 416 Church St., Honesdale, from Thursday, June 14, through Saturday, June 16. Next up is the Mary, Mother of God Parish at Holy Rosary Church Block Party, West Market Street and Wayne Avenue, Scranton, from Thursday, June 21, through Saturday, June 23; Tunkhannock Founders Day, Tioga Street, on Saturday, June 23; Elmhurst/Roaring Brook Volunteer Fire Company annual Picnic, 245 Blue Shutters Road, Elmhurst Twp., from Wednesday, June 27, through Saturday, June 30; St. Patrick’s Parish Summer Festival, 1403 Jackson St., Scranton, on Friday, July 13, and Saturday, July 14; Christ the King Parish Picnic, Betty and Main streets, Eynon, from Friday, July 27, through Sunday, July 29; St. Joseph’s Summer Festival, Friday, July 27, through Sunday, July 29, at Marywood University, 2300 Adams Ave., Scranton; Lackawanna Arts Weekend, which combines the First Friday Art Walk, Scranton Jazz Festival and Lackawanna Arts Festival at various venues in downtown Scranton from Friday, Aug. 3, through Sunday, Aug. 5; SS. Anthony and Rocco Italian Festival at St. Rocco’s Church, 122 Kurtz St., Dunmore, from Friday, Aug. 10, through Sunday, Aug. 12; St. John Vianney Barbecue at St. Pius X Church, 3615 Route 106, Clifford Twp., on Saturday, Aug. 11; Rock Lake Picnic at St. Katharine Drexel Parish, 2048 Creamton Drive, Pleasant Mount, on Saturday, Aug. 18; and La Festa Italiana on Courthouse Square, Scranton, from Friday, Aug. 31 through Monday, Sept. 3.

Film
To beat the heat, head inside a cool, dark movie theater such as Dietrich Theater, 60 E. Tioga St., Tunkhannock, which will host its Summer Film Festival from Friday, July 13, through Thursday, Aug. 2 (a preview day takes place Thursday, June 28). Take a trip down memory lane with the “Before the Kirby Was the Kirby” monthly Friday film series at F.M. Kirby Center for the Performing Arts, 71 Public Square, Wilkes-Barre.